Introduction to Songs of Innocence

Two commented upon poems in two days, I must be mad!

Actually, this is just a notice that since my normal well has only holiday poems left within it, I’m moving on to some other works. In particular I am going to be posting quite a bit of work by my favorite poet of all time: William Blake. Hope you enjoy.

Introduction to Songs of Innocence by William Blake

Piping down the valleys wild,
Piping songs of pleasant glee,
On a cloud I saw a child,
And he laughing said to me:

“Pipe a song about a Lamb!”
So I piped with merry cheer.
“Piper, Pipe that song again”;
So I piped; he wept to hear.

“Drop thy pipe, thy happy pipe;
Sing thy songs of happy cheer!”
So I sang the same again,
While he wept with joy to hear.

“Piper, sit thee down and write
In a book, that all may read.”
So he vanished from my sight;
And I plucked a hollow reed,

And I made a rural pen,
And I stained the water clear,
And I wrote my happy songs
Every child may joy to hear.

Introduction to Songs of Innocence

Leave a Reply

