Mummy Slept late and Daddy Fixed Breakfast

I’ll dedicate this to all the mothers, who make sure the world keeps turning and we love you for it.

Mummy Slept late and Daddy fixed Breakfast by John Ciardi

Daddy fixed the breakfast.
He made us each a waffle.
It looked like gravel pudding.
It tasted something awful.
“Ha, Ha,” he said, “I’ll try again.
This time I’ll get it right.”

But what I got was in between
Bituminous and Anthracite.
“A little too well done? Oh well.
I’ll have to start all over.”

That time what landed on my plate
Looked like a manhole cover.
I tried to cut it with a fork:
The fork gave off a spark.
I tried a knife and twisted it
Into a question mark.
I tried it with a hack-saw
I tried it with a torch.
It didn’t even make a dent.
It didn’t even scorch.

The next time Dad gets breakfast
When Mommy’s sleeping late,
I think I’ll skip the waffles.
I’d sooner eat the plate!

Mummy Slept late and Daddy Fixed Breakfast

Leave a Reply

