Song

Song by Ruth Krauss

I’d much rather sit there in the sun
watching the snow drip from the trees
and the milkman’s footsteps fill up with water
and the shadow of the spruce tree branches waving
over the sparkle on the leftover snow
and the water dripping in front of my eyes
and the water dripping from the roof
from the bushes of sparkle the water is dripping
the water is dripping from my eyes it is not dripping
I’d much rather sit in the sun the sun
I’d much rather sit in the sun
listening to the shovels scraping
and the birds that whistle on the wires that are dripping
and the back porch is shining
the steam is floating up
the steam floats up around me like my breathing was before
and the back porch is shining
the steam is floating up
the steam floats up around me like my breathing was before
and the maple tree is gleaming in the branches that are bare
above the back porch that is steaming
and I take off my shoes
I take off my stockings and
I sit in the sun I am sitting in the sun
I’d much rather sit here in the sun

Song

Leave a Reply

