City, City

City, City by Marci Ridlon

I

City, City,
wrong and bad,
looms above me
when I’m sad,
Throws its shadow
on my care,
sheds its poison
in my air,
Pounds me with its
Noisy fist,
sprays me with its
sooty mist
Till, with sadness
on my face,
I long to live
Another place

II

City, City,
Golden-clad,
shines around me
when I’m glad,
Lifts me with its
strength and height,
Fills me with its
sound and sight,
Takes me to its
crowded heart,
Holds me so I
won’t depart
Till, with gladness
on my face,
I wouldn’t live
another place

City, City

Leave a Reply

