Black Dreams

This erasure poem was written from the text of Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson. Interestingly, I had never read the novel when I wrote this. I wrote this from a handout that a teacher gave me when we were learning about erasure poems, the scene takes place when they stay out by the lake if memory serves. I may have to use Housekeeping for another erasure in the future, because there is a beautiful scene in it about the world made of salt, with a mother made of salt, that is just bursting with amazing imagery and language to repurpose.

Black Dreams by Chris McDaniel

Specter’s hands upon my eyes,
Darkness, rust-red, sat heavily,
A sheet over the earth.
Dreams come to haunt me
to trick me.
Catastrophe.
Rocks submerged into the Lake,
The roar of the woods.
We are survivors, picking amongst flotsam.

Black Dreams

Leave a Reply

