Forest

I’m never certain when I post old work, should I completely rewrite it, should I leave it as is, make edits. This piece is from middle school, and I think that shows, but it has always been a favorite of mine. So, I’m not certain if I should change a thing or not.

Forest by Chris McDaniel

A vibrant lovely place,
Life wherever the eye falls.
Rabbit holes and fox dens,
Sprouting plants rise from the ground
And flowers burst into bloom.
No human has touched this place.

Years later, the desert sands bury the earth.
Cacti barely cling to life as the sun scorches them.
Snakes, scorpions and vermin crawl through the sands,
While dust devils howl,
And the wind whispers the power of man.

Forest

Leave a Reply

