Where I’m From

It’s late and I am tired, but I have not forgotten you guys yet.

Where I’m From

I’m from noise,
From raised voices
And fists striking doors.
I’m from demands
And accusations,
Of never being good enough
And wishing I didn’t care.

I’m from a small room,
Green-speckled carpet
And blue-feathered walls.
My nexus, my portal,
Away from the noise.

I’m from too many fights,
Pointless, useless fights,
And realizing that it is rarely
Worth the effort.

I’m from point
And counter-point,
From avoiding
and stepping up.
I’m from
“I’m sick of it!”

I’m from a nearly broken home,
Barely held together.
Shaken by noise,
Terrified of silence.

Next Vote: “Mourning” or “This is Love”

Where I’m From

Leave a Reply

