Sick and Tired

Not a single vote, disappointing. I  decided to pick this one by coin flip. It’s actually important to note that this was written as a spoken word poem, inspired by “Shake the Dust” by Anis Mojgani the first time I ever heard it.

Sick and Tired

I’m sick and tired.
I’m sick and tired of
Hate trying to masquerade as Love.
I’m sick and tired of
Your truth being the only truth,
And my truth being nothing but lies.
I’m sick and tired of
Silent pain and those
Who prey upon it.
I’m sick and tired of
Mud-raking and finger-pointing,
Of lies and truth being so entwined
One is the same as the other.
I’m sick and tired of
Judgment from above that
Crushes me into the dust.
I’m sick and tired of
violence coming before reason,
of rage blinding compassion
and twisting justice.
I’m sick and tired of
Fires that never end
And lives that never start.
I’m sick and tired of
“Us” and “Them”
And no room in the middle.
I’m sick and tired of
All being equal but
Some being more equal than others.
I’m sick and tired of
quick-fix promises that no one believes,
until we try them and they don’t work.
I’m sick and tired of
Pride in the ideal meaning
Blind obedience to the reality.
I’m sick and tired of
Questioning becoming conspiring, Of
compromise being weakness
And strength found only in death.

I’m sick and tired.
I’m sick and tired of
Being drowned out.
I’m sick and tired of
Seeking common ground.
I’m sick and tired of
Losing the fight
Because the only way to win
Is to join.
I’m sick and tired of
The poison and the bile,
Of the garbage and the filth,
Of hatred and –isms that
Divide what should be indivisible.
I’m sick and tired of
dreams being for fools.

I’m sick and tired

But

I’m not quitting just yet.

Let’s see if I get any votes this time: “Lost Moments” or “Heart of Winter”

Sick and Tired

One thought on “Sick and Tired

Leave a Reply

